Bravery Awards

Bravery Awards 2018 header image
Supporting bravery award logos - Police Federation and Police Mutual

This annual event, sponsored by Police Mutual for ten years, honours some of the finest officers in England and Wales who have performed incredible acts of bravery, while on or off duty. Now in its 23rd year, we never fail to be humbled by every nomination. 

This year's national Police Bravery Awards will take place on 12 July.

2017 Bravery Awards

Last year we had 71 nominees from 40 force areas.  There were eight regional winners on the night, before the overall winner was crowned.

Overall winner: PC Sarah Currie, PC Michael Otterson and Sgt Elliott Richardson from Northumbria
Region 1 winner: PC Robert Shakespeare, Greater Manchester Police
Region 2 winner: PC Sarah Currie, PC Michael Otterson and Sgt Elliott Richardson, Northumbria Police
Region 3 winner: PC James Neilson and PC Ryan Patel, West Midlands Police
Region 4 winner: Sgt Iain McIvor and Sgt David Wilson, Lincolnshire Police
Region 5 winner: Sgt Richard Burgess, Essex Police
Region 6 winner: PC Moore and PC Karl Wood, Devon & Cornwall Police
Region 7 winner: PC Marc Woods, Dyfed-Powys Police
Region 8 winner: PC Alex Field, PC Jason Hodgson, PC Sam Homer, PC Wayne Pullen and PC Marc Woolmer, Metropolitan Police

Prime Minister celebrates police bravery

Brave officers honoured to meet HRH The Countess of Wessex

Twitter logo

Join @PFEW_HQ on Twitter and use the hashtag #PoliceBravery

Check out all the police bravery VT on the Police Federation YouTube channel - watch the highlights below

Watch the footage of the awards ceremony







Police Federation Bravery Awards 2017 brochure