Independent Review

Front cover of final report - independent review

In 2012, we decided that it was time to review the way in which we worked as an organisation.

Since its creation nearly 100 years ago, the structure and operation of the Police Federation of England and Wales (PFEW) had remained largely unaltered.

An independent review was subsequently commissioned by us, managed by the Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce (RSA), and led by Sir David Normington.

The final report

In January 2014, the Police Federation of England and Wales Independent Review was published with 36 recommendations from the panel that aimed to ‘create a Police Federation that can act as a credible voice for rank and file police officers and genuinely serve the public good as well as its members’ interests’.

We agreed to implement all of the review recommendations at our Annual Conference in May 2014. These fundamental changes are being built upon a revised Core Purpose which reflects the Federation’s commitment to act in the public interest, with accountability to the public and members. 

Latest news

We have reached a major milestone in our organisational reform as the new regulations that will govern us have now been laid before parliament and are expected to become law on 31 December 2017. As of November 2017, 32 of the 36 recommendations put forward by the review panel had been completed (12 are subject to elections taking place).

Progress reports

Independent Review update - November 2017

Independent Review update - August 2017

Independent Review update - April 2017

Quick Reference Overview - April 2017

Independent Review update - September 2016

Independent Review update - April 2016

Independent Review update - May 2015

RSA Independent Review Progress Report - October 2013

RSA Press Release: The next stage of the Police Federation review - July 2013 (consultation period extended)

PFEW News: Independent Review Consultation Now Open - May 2013

The Police Federation of England and Wales Independent Review - Outline

Additional information

Annual Public Value Report 2015/16

Annual Public Value Report 2014/15

PFEW Independent Review - Terms of Reference

RSA appointed to support the PFEW Independent Review – message from Sir David Normington

Police Federation of England and Wales announces Independent Review Panel