Structure of the Federation

Branch level

Each of the 43 police forces in England and Wales has a Branch Council made up of all workplace reps for that force, who are elected by members from that force. From the Council, a Branch Board is elected by the Council which includes Branch Secretary, Chair and Treasurer. Branch Boards meet regularly through the year to consider issues that affect their electorate. 

Branch Boards act as the negotiation and consultative body when dealing with their force's Chief Constable, senior officers and the Police and Crime Commissioners, providing an effective link between officers and senior management. They deal with the day-to-day problems Federated officers face, and work to improve the status of the police service and its members.

National level

The Branch Chair and Secretary from each force makes up the National Council which meets five times a year to discuss national issues. From the National Council, a National Board is elected by National Council members.


Each of the 43 Joint Branch Boards are also part of one of eight regions:

Region 1: North West
(comprising Cheshire, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Merseyside)

Region 2: North East
(comprising Cleveland, Durham, Humberside, Northumbria, North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire)

Region 3: Midlands
(comprising Staffordshire, Warwickshire, West Mercia, West Midlands)

Region 4: Eastern
(comprising Cambridgeshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Suffolk)

Region 5: South East
(comprising Bedfordshire, Essex, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, Kent, Surrey, Sussex, Thames Valley)

Region 6: South West
(comprising Avon & Somerset, Devon & Cornwall, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Wiltshire)

Region 7: Wales
(comprising Dyfed Powys, Gwent, North Wales, South Wales)

Region 8: London
(comprising City of London, Metropolitan)

Currently, each region has three members to represent them at a national level: one constable, one sergeant and one inspector (although Region 8, due to the large number of officers it has, elects two for each rank).

Each region also elects one female reserve member to each committee.